Announcing the 2018 OJA Winners

The OJAs awarded 31 projects with awards, as well as three special recipients and five General Excellence winners.

See the Winners  Watch the Show

This year the Online Journalism Awards feature 37 awards, including 13 with a total of $58,500 in prize money.

These prizes are made possible by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Gannett Foundation, the University of Florida and Journalism 360. Their awards honor data journalism, visual digital storytelling, investigative journalism, public service, technical innovation and general excellence.

Reporting on police misconduct: 7 award-winning examples

November 5, 2022 | Online Journalism Awards

Investigating and reporting on police misconduct requires a complete and nuanced understanding of policing, the rules and regulations in effect and the community being policed. 

Over the years, there are many examples of both winners and finalists honored in the ... Read More

Photo highlights: Celebrating the 2022 OJA winners and finalists

October 19, 2022 | Karolle Rabarison

The Online News Association (ONA) awarded 55 prizes across 23 categories in the 2022 Online Journalism Awards. ONA’s annual conference, held Sept. 21-24 in Los Angeles, culminated in a special evening celebration to honor the winners and finalists. See all ... Read More

Watch the 2022 Online Journalism Awards presentations and ceremony

October 13, 2022 | Karolle Rabarison

We were thrilled to celebrate the winners in the 2022 Online Journalism Awards this September.

Winners were announced throughout the 2022 Online News Association Conference (ONA22), Sept. 21–24 in Los Angeles. Leading up to the conference, ONA also previously announced ... Read More

Over 400 Recipients in the Past 18 Years

Recent General Excellence winners include The Globe and Mail, Le Temps, and Nexo Jornal.

See the Organizations