Image
Top
Navigation
October 8, 2020

When to watch the 2020 Online Journalism Awards winner announcements


The 2020 Online Journalism Awards represent the best in digital journalism from the past year. Looking through the finalist projects is like digging through a gold mine of inspiring journalism—you’ll find everything from collaborative investigations that involved reporters around the world, to work from local news organizations that showcase thorough understanding of communities and how to serve them.

We will announce winners of 42 awards across categories at events throughout the conference. We encourage you to explore the finalist projects (you can even hear from creators). Then add these sessions to your calendars to cheer on and celebrate your peers.

Tuesday, Oct. 6: Video and Visual Storytelling

3:30 p.m.–4 p.m. ET (19:30–20 UTC)

Followed by a Meet Up to Celebrate the Power of Visual Journalism, hosted by CatchLight.

Wednesday, Oct. 7: Newsletters and Audio Storytelling

1 p.m.–1:30 p.m. ET (17–17:30 UTC)

Thursday, Oct. 8: Investigative Journalism

1 p.m.–1:30 p.m. ET (17–17:30 UTC)

Friday, Oct. 9: Sports and Topical Reporting: Climate Change

3:30 p.m.–4 p.m. ET (19:30–20 UTC)

Tuesday, Oct. 13: Online Commentary and Student Awards

3:30 p.m.–4 p.m. ET (19:30–20 UTC)

Wednesday, Oct. 14: Immersive Storytelling and Technical Innovation

3:30 p.m.–4:30 p.m. ET (19:30–20:30 UTC)

Celebrate afterwards with a Journalism 360 meetup in VR! Join through the portals directly on the session page.

Thursday, Oct. 15: Breaking News and Explanatory Reporting

1 p.m.–1:30 p.m. ET (17–17:30 UTC)

Friday, Oct. 16: Online Journalism Awards Closing Ceremony

1 p.m.–2:15 p.m. ET (17–18:15 UTC)