Congratulations to all finalists for the 2021 Online Journalism Awards! Winners will be announced on October 15.

Five awards come with a total of $40,000 in prize money this year to honor general excellence, engaged journalism, immersive storytelling, public service and climate change reporting. Thank you to our generous sponsors, SmartNews, McKinsey Publishing, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and The University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communications for supporting this work.

General Excellence in Online Journalism
Knight Award for Public Service
Breaking News
Digital Video Storytelling
Excellence in Audio Digital Storytelling
Excellence in Collaboration and Partnerships
Excellence in Immersive and Emerging Technology Storytelling
Excellence in Newsletters
Excellence in Social Justice Reporting
Excellence in Visual Digital Storytelling
Explanatory Reporting
Gather Award in Community-Centered Journalism
Online Commentary
Sports, Health and Wellness
Student Journalism Award
The Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award
The University of Florida Award for Investigative Data Journalism
Topical Reporting: Climate Change
Topical Reporting: Pandemic Coverage