April 4, 2024

New opportunities: ONA calls for entries, judges and screeners for the 2024 Online Journalism Awards

Honoring digital excellence across 23 categories, including AI innovation, breaking news and social media engagement

UPDATE (May 8): We received an unusual number of messages about needing more time in the week leading up to the deadline to submit entries to the 2024 OJAs. To give everyone the opportunity the opportunity award entries and be part of another impressive slate of awards and finalists. Sumbit your work by Thursday, May 9

The Online News Association (ONA) has opened the call for entries for the 2024 Online Journalism Awards (#OJA24), the leading global awards for digital journalism since 2000.

OJA honorees set the standard for digital excellence. Past finalists represent a diverse range of journalists and organizations, from local news podcasts to major international media. Recent winners include Oregon Public BroadcastingThe Washington PostThe MarkupBorderless MagazineArepitaWHYNOT by Radio Free Asia and ICIJ.

The 2024 awards are open to work published between May 26, 2023 and April 30, 2024. Across 23 categories, judges will consider the quality of the journalism, digital innovation and the overall impact on the intended audiences and society at large. All entries are due May 9 at 11:59 p.m. EDT (3:59 a.m. UTC).

New and updated categories

For 2024, new and updated categories include:

  • Excellence in AI Innovation: This award honors a person or newsroom that has implemented generative artificial intelligence (AI) tools in innovative ways to enhance productivity, accessibility and newsgathering, or to connect with audiences. Entries will be evaluated on the extent to which their AI implementation serves an identified need, either internally or externally focused. Judges will also weigh the quality of the entry on its creative use of AI tools, considerations for human agency in the design and how the tools improve the human experience.
  • Excellence in Technology Reporting: This award recognizes excellence in digital journalism focusing on coverage of technology, and has been expanded to include three newsroom sizes: small, medium and large. Entries in this category may address all aspects of technology including culture, policy and economic impact. Entries can include investigations, analysis and profiles.
  • Excellence in Digital Video Storytelling: This award honors innovative journalism through digital video, including animation. The subcategories have evolved to include a specific honor for video projects that are featured on social media. The other subcategories are short form (up to 10 minutes), long form (more than 10 minutes) and series (3-5 videos of any length).

View all categories and submit entries by May 9

For ONA members

ONA members help make the awards program possible through their annual support and receive complimentary or discounted access to many opportunities, including submissions to the OJAs.

Reduced entry fees:

  • ONA members: $125 per entry (non-members: $200)
  • Student members: $15 per entry (student non-members: $30)
  • Micro-size newsrooms: $50 per entry, regardless of membership status

Get your ONA membership today

Cash prizes

Six awards come with a total of $57,000 in prize money, courtesy of The University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications3M, the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication’s Agora Journalism CenterMcKinsey PublishingJohn S. and James L. Knight Foundation and SmartNews. These awards honor science reporting, community-centered journalism, investigative data journalism, service journalism, climate change reporting and general excellence.

How the OJAs select winners and finalists

More than 200 volunteers contribute their digital media expertise to discover the best of the best from the past year’s journalism. In the first round, screeners review entries to determine semi-finalists. Then, judges meet as a group to review, discuss and select the finalists and winners.

Applications to volunteer are open now through May 9.

Apply to be a judge or screener

The ONA community will celebrate 25 years of the Online Journalism Awards on Friday, Sept. 20, in Atlanta during the 2024 Online News Association Conference. Tickets to the awards luncheon are available as an add-on to the conference pass. Learn more about ONA24 registration.