August 11, 2023

Announcing individual honors in the 2023 Online Journalism Awards

ONA reveals the 2023 winners of the ONA Community Award, James Foley Award, Impact Award and Rich Jaroslovsky Founder Award

We are delighted to announced the 2023 recipients of the ONA Community Award, the James Foley Award for Conflict Reporting, the Impact Award and the Rich Jaroslovsky Founder Award. Part of the annual Online Journalism Awards showcase, these awards go beyond journalism projects and stories to celebrate individuals who stand out as inspiring examples for their journalism peers around the world.

ONA Community Award

Siri Carpenter: Empowering an inclusive and impactful community of science journalists

Siri Carpenter

Siri Carpenter

The 2023 ONA Community Award recognizes Siri Carpenter for her work leading The Open Notebook, a nonprofit organization on a mission to help journalists improve their skills in covering science, health, technology and the environment.

The ONA Community Award honors a person, small team or community that have created inclusive working environments that enable colleagues to deliver game-changing journalism. Each year ONA members have the opportunity to nominate peers for consideration. Honorees are selected from these nominations by a special award committee that includes ONA Board members, previous Community Award winners and longtime contributors to ONA.

As The Open Notebook’s Co-Founder and Editor-in-Chief, Siri has created a comprehensive set of resources to empower science journalists at all experience levels. Community members say anytime a science journalist has a question about how to do their job, The Open Notebook probably has an article to help them. Siri also has leveraged the community’s trust to raise the standards for inclusivity in science journalism. The selection committee was especially impressed with how Siri’s work provides both essential training and a sense of belonging to science journalists at a time when mis/disinformation have made it increasingly difficult to reach intended audiences with quality reporting.

James Foley Award for Conflict Reporting

Finbarr O’Reilly: Powerful storytelling and leadership in covering humanitarian emergencies

Finbarr O'Reilly

Finbarr O’Reilly

British-Canadian visual journalist and author Finbarr O’Reilly has been honored with the 2023 James Foley Award for Conflict Reporting. Finbarr is a regular contributor to The New York Times and the 2020 Laureate of the Carmignac Photojournalism Award, a grant that resulted in a collaborative online project, two books and multiple exhibitions about the multifaceted social and ecological challenges in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Since 2015, the James W. Foley Legacy Foundation and ONA have collaborated to honor independent journalists who produce exceptional reporting under the most challenging conditions. For 2023, the selection committee highlighted Finbarr’s leadership in supporting fellow independent journalists to navigate the emotional and mental impacts of conflict reporting.

“Finbarr O’Reilly continues Jim Foley’s legacy of excellence in storytelling, moral courage and concern for fellow freelance photographers,” the committee noted. “The sharing of personal issues with moral injury resulting from his brilliant work and his serving on the ACOS Alliance [A Culture of Safety Alliance] board promote journalist safety, self awareness and generosity to the community of journalists.”

Impact Award

Jean Friedman-Rudovsky and Cassie Haynes: Changing how journalists engage the communities they cover

Jean Friedman-Rudovsky and Cassie Haynes.

Jean Friedman-Rudovsky and Cassie Haynes

We are thrilled to congratulate Resolve Philly’s Jean Friedman-Rudovsky and Cassie Haynes as the joint recipients of the 2023 Impact Award. Resolve Philly works to challenge the journalism industry to be more equitable, collaborative and based in community voices and solutions. As co-founders and Co-Executive Directors, Jean and Cassie have built an impressive team of 25 leaders, demonstrated the power of shared leadership and inspired over $10 million in giving to support Resolve Philly’s mission.

The ONA Board of Directors established the Impact Award to recognize trailblazing individuals whose work in digital journalism and dedication to innovation exhibit substantial impact on the industry. The board selects honorees regardless of their involvement with ONA or tenure in journalism.

Rich Jaroslovsky Founder Award

Mandy Jenkins: Legacy of innovation, service and generosity to the ONA community and journalism

Mandy Jenkins

Mandy Jenkins

The ONA Board of Directors selected Mandy Jenkins posthumously as the 2023 recipient of the Rich Jaroslovsky Founder Award. The Founder Award honors a senior-level individual who has made significant contributions to advance digital journalism through their involvement with ONA and work in the industry.

Mandy embodied ONA’s mission. Mandy started her ONA experience as a volunteer at the annual conference, providing support at the registration desk, and continued to serve the community in many ways for the next decade, including as Board President.

Where to watch the 2023 OJAs

The ONA community will gather to honor the recipients of these four awards at the 2023 Online Journalism Awards Ceremony and Banquet, hosted by NPR’s Gene Demby, on Aug. 26, 7 p.m., in Philadelphia. This celebration is the closing event of the ONA23: Philadelphia conference; a livestream will be available for people who can’t attend in person. Learn more about where to watch the 2023 OJAs.