Winners for the 2020 OJAs were announced at virtual events during ONA20 Everywhere, Oct. 1-16. Project information for the 2020 finalists and winners are listed below!

These prizes are made possible by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the University of Florida, McKinsey Publishing, Journalism 360, the Agora Journalism Center at the University of Oregon’s School of Journalism and Communication and SmartNews. Their awards honor general excellence, engaged journalism, data journalism, visual digital storytelling, investigative journalism, public service, technical innovation and climate change reporting.

General Excellence in Online Journalism
Knight Award for Public Service
Award for Technical Innovation in the Service of Digital Journalism
Breaking News
Digital Video Storytelling
Excellence in Audio Digital Storytelling
Excellence in Collaboration and Partnerships
Excellence in Immersive and Emerging Technology Storytelling
Excellence in Newsletters
Excellence in Visual Digital Storytelling
Explanatory Reporting
Gather Award in Community-Centered Journalism
Online Commentary
Sports, Health and Wellness
The Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award
The University of Florida Award for Investigative Data Journalism
Topical Reporting: Climate Change
Pro-Am Student Award
The David Teeuwen Student Journalism Award